Thursday, December 20, 2012

“Got To Be N.C.” Competition Dining Series announces chef battle bracket for Fire on the Rock-Asheville

The competition at Lioncrest on Biltmore fires up on Jan. 14 with the first of 7 dinners. Check out the brackets below. Tickets available at

The 2013 “Got To Be N.C.” Competition Dining Series has announced the eight chefs chosen to compete in the preliminary Asheville rounds of Fire on the Rock, which kick off Jan. 14.

Sponsored by the N.C. Department of Agriculture and Southern Foods-Pate Dawson, the inaugural Asheville competition will pit eight of Asheville’s best chefs in an Iron Chef-style competition. The Fire on the Rock-Asheville finalist will go head-to-head with the Fire on the Rock- Blowing Rock finalist in Blowing Rock on April 30.

Below are the participating chefs and the dates for the dinners to be held at Lioncrest on Biltmore in Asheville. All dinners start at 6:30 pm.

Jan. 14

Peter Pollay of Posana Café versus Scott Wallace of RankinVault

Jan. 15

Adam Hayes of The RedStag Grill versus John Strauss of Hobnob

Jan. 16

Matthew Miner of The Asheville Public versus Jason Brian of Jack of the Wood

Jan. 17

Jason Roy of Lexington Avenue Brewery versus Mauricio Abreu of Chef Mo’s

Jan. 22

Jan. 14 winner versus Jan. 15 winner

Jan. 23

Jan. 16 winner versus Jan. 17 winner

Jan. 30

Jan. 22 winner versus Jan. 23 winner

From left to right:

Matthew Miner, Asheville Public
Scott Wallace, Rankin Vault
Jason Roy, Lexington Ave. Brewery
Mauricio Abreu, Chef Mo’s
Jason Brian, Jack of the Wood
John Strauss, Hobnob
Adam Hayes, The Red Stag Grill
Peter Pollay, Posana Cafe


No comments:

Post a Comment